A Dozen of Eggs To A Fair Weather Saint

It has been a tradition to offer a dozen of eggs to the nuns of Santa Clara when one doesn’t want rain to fall on a particular day. How did the practice start?  

santa-clara.jpg

Dr. Alejandro Roces suspects that the saint’s name inspired it. Clara in Castillian means “a short interval of fair weather on a rainy day.” But why offer eggs? In Spanish, clara pertains to the albumen (egg whites) of the egg. In effect, Claras (egg whites) is being offered to Santa Clara to keep a particular date clara (fair in weather). 

Another question is why offer a dozen of eggs. My mother has the simplest explanation –Twelve eggs represents the twelve months of fair weather in a year. 

eggs.jpg

Santa Clara de Asis was a childhood sweetheart of San Francisco de Asis. Upon the death of St. Francis, Clare led an austere life and died a virgin. What an irony when in Obando, Bulacan, Santa Clara has also become the patroness of pregnancy! But that is another story. 

Saint Clare founded the Franciscan order of women known as Poor Clares whose local house is the Real Monasterio de Santa Clara, the oldest cloister in the Philippines. The monastery was founded by Sor Geronima dela Asuncion, a relative of the Spanish monarch. In June 16, 1662, the monastery received Royal protection. From then on, the adjective “real” was appended to the monastery’s name. 

rear.jpg

Rene Javellana described the monastery of the contemplative branch of Franciscan nuns to be a “30-foot windowless wall that cut them from the city. The nunnery was dubbed “living death” because women who entered were never seen again by outsiders. The only sign of their existence were the chants that would waft the monastery chapel during Mass and common prayers.” In Rizal’s Noli me Tangere, the unfortunate and tragic Maria Clara found refuge and met her death in this monastery.” 

monasterio.jpg

For over three centuries the Monasterio de Santa Clara was in Intramuros, beside Fort Santiago. The nuns were forced to transfer their convent to Aurora Boulevard in Quezon City since the last war destroyed the Intramuros convent. However, with the construction of the C5 highway, the nuns move to another site near the old Quezon City convent. In this new location, devotees of the “fair weather saint” continue the tradition of offering those twelve “good weather” eggs.  

Sources: 
Fiesta by Alejandro Roces
Intramuros In and Out by Rene Javellana
Published in: on February 22, 2008 at 1:18 pm  Comments (27)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://traveleronfoot.wordpress.com/2008/02/22/a-dozen-of-eggs-to-a-fair-weather-saint/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

27 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Please pray for fair weather (no rain all day) in Toronto, Canada
    on October 5, 2013.

  2. There is also a monestary to St. Clare in Cabuyao, La Laguna. Recently, Yeyette and I visited it the day before our wedding. =)

  3. Reblogged this on roymarkcorrales.

  4. Im praying for st.cllaire for granting good weather in my life and my love ones. Saint claire answered my prayers before and w/ all of my heart i thank thee, please once again hear and answer my prayer again. Hope to visit again the monastery when i go phil. THANK YOU SAINT CLAIRE..AMEN

    • l am prayer for st claire for passing the board examination for teacher answered my prayer before examination remind your answered to qestion

  5. I pray to Sta. Clara for a fair weather on my daughter’s debut on aug 5 sunday. May this be a bright and sunny day. Praying for you, Sta Clara as a gift to my daughter.

    Amen

  6. My daugther will be baptized on July 28, 2012. I am praying for that day not rain…. Thank you..

  7. Pray for our Family ,,,, Sa lahat ng pagsubok na dumadaan sa aming God Bless you all salamat po

  8. Hi! can I buy the eggs sa mismong place or do I have to bring my own set of eggs? I’m planning to go there asap eh. thanks

  9. Hi! I would like to know how to get there fast from Las Piñas City if I’m gonna commute.

    Should I bring a dozen of eggs with me or I can buy it from there?

    How about the schedule of their masses everyday? Do you know when?

    • Jaymerson, if you’re commuting from Las Pinas, take the bus going to Baclaran then a jeep going to MRT Taft. Take MRT going to Cubao station. From Cubao, take the LRT purple line going to Katipunan. Sta. Clara Church is just a few walks away from LRT Katipunan. -Glenn

  10. hello there… my husband and i were married for more than a year. but then we are not fortunate as a couple to have a child. we are planning to go and visit there one of this days. please…. please…. please…. pray for us to be bless with a baby….. St. Clare, Pray for us…. Amen…

  11. when is the egg offering day and what time? thank you

    • I don’t think there’s a particular time :) Like at the Pink Sisters in Tagaytay, one just goes there to pray and offer prayer petitions. Less the eggs though :D

  12. what is the mass schedule on august 11,2011
    feast day…thank you
    please reply asap…

  13. we already offered eggs here at sta. clara monastery in quezon hope we passsed the civil service thanks:)

  14. [...] going to have a good visit after all — but perhaps I should recite a couple of prayers, offer up some eggs to Santa Clara and sing some chants, just to be [...]

  15. Mass Schedule:
    Monday – Saturday 6:00AM
    Sunday 6:00AM/5:30PM

  16. May I know what time of masses held every Sunday? or during weekdays. Thanks!

  17. I have received countless blessings from the prayers of the sisters. I would like to make donations – my collections from relatives in the US. It would have been easier if I had their bank account number so I could deposit directly to bank. I won’t claim an official receipt. My savings is for heaven.

    Our place is far from the convent and soon, I shall be migrating to the US. I really hope to get their bank account ny=umber. It’s perfectly safe – they coud ask their bank about the risks.

    I know a lot of monasteries that give out their bank account no. For instance the Redemptoris Mater of the Neo Catehcumenate is one.

    I earnestly pray I’d be entrusted with this so that my contributions go straight to the sisters.

    Peace to all!

  18. when is the egg offering day and what time?tnx

  19. My mother prayed to St Clare for a daughter. Hence, my name. Her church in Assisi is an amazing site :-) Thank you for featuring this monastery in your blog – it relived my connection to it.

    • Glad to learn that Clare!

      • I named my daughter Jan Zoe Clare…that is, God’s Gift of Life through St. Clare. =)

  20. I am not from Manila and I’ve been trying to call the no (9957681) I got in your website bcoz I am going to Manila on October. May I know the mass schedule on weekdays?

  21. Hello. would you know the schedule of their mass every sunday?thanks

  22. [...] everyone was expecting it to be a wet Sunday. But somebody must have offered a lot of eggs to the Sta. Clara convent and help keep the sun up that day. It was bright and sunny from morning to early [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

